Judge Test Questions Summer 2015

Written by derflippi on October 08, 2015


The next Judge Test Reset is coming very soon.

Here's some data on how many people..

passed the test in..
less than 7 minutes 0% pass
7 - 20 minutes 44% pass
20 - 40 minutes
47% pass
30 minutes or more
83% pass


The next Judge Test will come online within this week. Although the questions change, we release the old questions regularly. Maybe you can learn something from this!

To pass the test, 7/10 or a better score was required. The questions, in roughly ascending difficulty:

Norman controls only a Child of Night and is at 2 life. Andre attacks norman a Grizzly Bear and a Youthful Knight. What happens in the combat phase, after Norman blocks the Grizzly Bear with Child of Night?

Child of Night {1B} |Creature -- Vampire| 2/1 Lifelink

Youthful Knight {1W} |Creature -- Human Knight| 2/1 First strike

Grizzly Bears {1G} |Creature -- Bear| 2/2


Answer

Youthful Knight deals 2 damage to Norman, SBA are checked, Norman dies. The game doesn't proceed to a point where normal combat damage is dealt.



Anja controls Grim Lavamancer. She uses the ability targeting Negev. In response, Negev destroys the Grim Lavamancer with Murder.
Does this also stop the 2 damage from Grim Lavamancer?

Grim Lavamancer {R} |Creature -- Human Wizard| 1/1 R, T, Exile two cards from your graveyard: Grim Lavamancer deals 2 damage to target creature or player.

Murder {1BB} |Instant| Destroy target creature.


Answer

No, abilities exist independent of their source.



Alex controls a Paladin en-Vec. How can Lightning Bolt, Pyroclasm and Damnation affect it, if at all?

Paladin en-Vec {1WW} |Creature -- Human Knight| 2/2 First strike, protection from black and from red

Lightning Bolt {R} |Instant| Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to target creature or player.

Pyroclasm {1R} |Sorcery| Pyroclasm deals 2 damage to each creature.

Damnation {2BB} |Sorcery| Destroy all creatures. They can't be regenerated.

Answer


Lightning Bolt cannot even target it.
Pyroclasm damage will be prevented.
Damnation will destroy it.




Andross controls a Plagued Rusalka. Can he activate the ability of Plagued Rusalka targetting that Rusalka? Why/Why not?

Plagued Rusalka {B} |Creature -- Spirit| 1/1 B, Sacrifice a creature: Target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.

Answer

He can do so.
Announce, Targets, .. , Cost



Arnold controls a Whisperwood Elemental. He sacrifices it for the activated ability. Will he manifest because it died? Please give a short explanation why/why not.

Whisperwood Elemental {3GG} |Creature -- Elemental| 4/4 At the beginning of your end step, manifest the top card of your library. / Sacrifice Whisperwood Elemental: Until end of turn, face-up nontoken creatures you control gain "When this creature dies, manifest the top card of your library."

Answer

It will not trigger. It never had the ability "when this dies..."



Arabella controls Sky-Eel School. She then casts Clone, choosing Sky-Eel School as the creature to copy. Does Arabella get to draw and discard a card?

Sky-Eel School {3UU} |Creature -- Fish| 3/3 Flying / When Sky-Eel School enters the battlefield, draw a card, then discard a card.

Clone {3U} |Creature -- Shapeshifter| 0/0 You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.


Answer

She will get the trigger, Clone enters as complete Sky-Eel School.



Amelie controls a Knight of the Reliquary, and 3 Forests. She has no cards in her graveyard. Norman controls a Terravore as his only permanent. Norman has 1 Forest in his graveyard. Now, Amelie resolves a Wildfire. What creatures will survive, if any - and why ?

Knight of the Reliquary {1GW} |Creature -- Human Knight| 2/2 Knight of the Reliquary gets +1/+1 for each land card in your graveyard. / T, Sacrifice a Forest or Plains: Search your library for a land card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.

Terravore {1GG} |Creature -- Lhurgoyf| */* Trample / Terravore's power and toughness are each equal to the number of land cards in all graveyards.

Wildfire {4RR} |Sorcery| Each player sacrifices four lands. Wildfire deals 4 damage to each creature.


Answer

Knight of Reliquary is a 5/5 after solution of the Wildfire with 4 damage. It survives. Terravore is a 4/4 after solution of Wildfire with 4 damage. When SBA are applied, Terravore dies.



Jack controls a Humility. He activates his Mishra's Factory. What are the power/toughness? Does it matter if Humility entered the battlefield after Mishra's Factory was activated?

Humility {2WW} |Enchantment| All creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1.

Mishra's Factory |Land| T: Add 1 to your mana pool. / 1: Mishra's Factory becomes a 2/2 Assembly-Worker artifact creature until end of turn. It's still a land. / T: Target Assembly-Worker creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.


Answer

It becomes a 2/2 because PT-setting effects apply in same layer, thus timestamps apply. Different order of this timestamp means Factory becomes 1/1 instead.



Alesha resolves a Show and Tell. Alesha puts a Griselbrand onto the battlefield. Norman puts a Clone onto the battlefield. Can Clone copy Griselbrand?

Show and Tell {2U} |Sorcery| Each player may put an artifact, creature, enchantment, or land card from his or her hand onto the battlefield.

Griselbrand {4BBBB} |Legendary Creature -- Demon| 7/7 Flying, lifelink / Pay 7 life: Draw seven cards.

Clone {3U} |Creature -- Shapeshifter| 0/0 You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.


Answer

Cant copy Griselbrand. What to copy is decided before the permanent changes zones.



Andre controls a face-down Deathmist Raptor. He wants to turn it face-up, but Norman tries to respond with Lightning Bolt. Can he do that?

Lightning Bolt {R} |Instant| Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to target creature or player.

Deathmist Raptor {1GG} |Creature -- Lizard Beast| 3/3 Deathtouch / Whenever a permanent you control is turned face up, you may return Deathmist Raptor from your graveyard to the battlefield face up or face down. / Megamorph 4G


Answer

He cant do that, megamorph is a special action that cannot be responded to.



Andre controls a Goblin King with a +1/+1 counter. It becomes enchanted with Reduce to Stature. Then, Andre resolves a Giant Growth targetting said Goblin King. What are the abilities and the power/toughness of Goblin King now?

Goblin King {1RR} |Creature -- Goblin| 2/2 Other Goblin creatures get +1/+1 and have mountainwalk.

Reduce in Stature {2U} |Enchantment -- Aura| Enchant creature / Enchanted creature has base power and toughness 0/2.

Giant Growth {G} |Instant| Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn

Answer

4/6 ( 0/2 base, +1/+1 counter, +3/+3 Growth all apply)
Its only ability is "Other goblins..."



Andre casts Electroylze targetting Norman and Norman's Spellskite. Can Norman activate Spellskite targetting the Electrolyze? If he can, what will the ability of Spellskite do?

Electrolyze {1UR} |Instant| Electrolyze deals 2 damage divided as you choose among one or two target creatures and/or players. / Draw a card.

Spellskite {2} |Artifact Creature -- Horror| 0/4 (u/p): Change a target of target spell or ability to Spellskite.


Answer

Norman can activate Spellskite targetting any ability or spell. It won't do anything because Electrolyze needs two different targets.



Anna controls a Glowrider, a Plains and an Island. She announces Engineered Explosives with X=1. How many counters will be put on said Engineered Explosives as it resolves?

Glowrider {2W} |Creature -- Human Cleric| 2/1 Noncreature spells cost 1 more to cast.

Engineered Explosives {X} |Artifact| Sunburst / 2, Sacrifice Engineered Explosives: Destroy each nonland permanent with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Engineered Explosives.


Answer

2 counters will be put onto Engineered Explosives. Sunburst checks for the total cost of a spell, which in this case is 1+1=2.

Back to Magic: the Gathering Articles

Comments:
by TrulyWooly on 2016-02-29 22:30 CET

how in the name of the Lord does she resolve wildfire, having 3 forests on board :)


by lopikl on 2016-03-07 19:54 CET

Obviously she will cast manamorphose into seething song + whatever ritual. She constructed this deck after hours of trying to fight eldrazi in modern, so it's not her fault that it's so weird :-)


by JPAzS71121 on 2016-08-24 20:11 CET

Fuck Humility. Honestly, that card is such a pain in the ass for rules.


All content on this page may not be reproduced without written consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


Contact Us | Privacy Policy